Sewing

An Antique Sewing Machine: A tribute to my mother

Stitches in time

antique sewing machine by sew.knit.create

The antique sewing machine I learned to sew on.

A simple machine but so many memories are tied to it. This antique sewing machine belongs to my mother who received it from her grandmother as a gift. This is the sewing machine that I first learned on.

gold detail on antique sewing machine

I love the gold detail patterns on the sewing machine

It all began with watching my mother turn a flat one dimensional piece of fabric into a three dimensional garment. Then my sister and I beg my mother to allow us to turn the handle on this beautiful hand-crank antique sewing machine.

Hand-crank on antique sewing machine by sew.knit.create

Hand-crank on antique sewing machine.

Soon we would move to helping pin patterns, then cutting the fabric, then guide the fabric through this amazing machine.

antique singer

Antique Singer sewing machine. Again notice the beautiful gold details

It is amazing how much detail went into creating machines back in the 1800’s a far cry from the plastic machines of today! Beautiful details of stamped metal, smooth wood grain, and glossy black body capture your imagination.

Stamped metal plate on the antique singer from sew.knit.create

Stamped metal plate on the antique singer.

Metal end plate on antique Singer

Metal end plate on antique Singer sewing machine.

Metal parts on antique Singer machine.

Metal parts on antique Singer machine.

Antique metal plate on Singer sewing machine.

Antique metal plate on Singer sewing machine

Singer logo

I love the beautiful wood grain on the cover and the logo is so intricate.

This simple machine seems to encapsulate my childhood. Watching my mother craft wearable art inspired in me an unquenchable passion to create things with my hands. It was under her hands that I made my first stitches and under her guidance that I created my first garment. Although this is only a machine it is threaded into my childhood in an inseparable way. It is a link with my mother that entwines our lives together for both of us have stories tied to this machine–it is a part of the fabric of our lives.

It is because of my mother that I am the woman I am today.

gold detail on antique sewing machine

I love the gold detail patterns on the sewing machine

And that is just my story…

5 thoughts on “An Antique Sewing Machine: A tribute to my mother

  1. Thanks Kido, this sewing machine has been through a lot… wish it could tell it’s own story. You definitely deserve to inherit it 🙂

  2. I love all the beautiful details on the machine.! They sure don’t make them like they used to. This post makes me thankful for my mom, who also taught me to sew. We are lucky girls to have such wonderful ladies in our lives! Thanks for sharing your story and reminding me of that!

Leave a Reply

