Sewing

Christian Dior’s 1947 Bar Suit

image

Christian Dior's 1947 Bar Suit

This iconic suit is what inspired my imagination in elementary school and started me on the road of fashion and clothing design.

I can remember sitting on the floor in my classroom flipping through a book and stopping on this image. I was mememorized. I wanted to be that woman. She looked so poised. I wanted to wear that suit. It was magnificent.

In 1947 this suit was released and was promptly named the “New Look.” You can read more about the history of Christian Dior’s iconic look here.

Leave a Reply

