Book Reviews / Knitting / Links Monday

Links and Reviews Monday: Modern Knits For Babies

Baby knits, in my opinion, are one of the best options for a busy knitter. Most projects can be completed with minimum effort and time–a definite plus for a busy mom! Vintage Knits for Modern Babies by Hadley Fierlinger (photographs) is amongst my favorite pattern books for baby knits. Well written, virtually mistake free (authors’ blog here for one correction and several free pdf patterns), lots of beautiful photographs, and best of all vintage!

image

I first purchased this book when my sister found out she was pregnant and made the pixie cap with matching mittens from wool I got from Lismore Sheep Farm in River John Nova Scotia Canada.

image

When I found out I was pregnant I decided to make the layette set complete with the cap, crossover jacket, tiny trousers, and pom-pom booties. (Unfortunately I do not have a picture of the set because my son out grew it within a month!) However, I also made the heirloom blanket out of this book and I have a beautiful picture of my son with it wearing the cap.

Sew.Knit.Create heirloom blanket and baby cap

Sew.Knit.Create heirloom blanket and baby cap

Sew.Knit.Create close up for texture comparison

Sew.Knit.Create close up for texture comparison

Recently I completed a second set of wee mittens for my son that you may read about in a previous post A Few Of My Favorite Things: Warm Woolen Mittens.

3 thoughts on “Links and Reviews Monday: Modern Knits For Babies

  1. Pingback: Top 12 Knitting Projects For 2013 | Sew.Knit.Create

  2. Pingback: Fair-Isle Wool Tam | Sew.Knit.Create

  3. Pingback: Knit Some Baby Hats! | Sew.Knit.Create

Leave a Reply

