Sewing

The Fabric Is The Art

I love fabric!

My husband can testify to my piles, tubs, and bags of fabric! When we moved from Kansas to Maryland I literally moved 2×3 squares of fabric with me because “I’m sure that I will find a use for that someday.” (It might also be called hoarding)

Sew.Knit.Create Sheri McMulley fabric

Sew.Knit.Create Sheri McMulley fabric

When I first discovered Sheri McCulley fabric I simply adored her artwork! When I saw her fabric I fell in love and when I acquired some I was suddenly at a loss on what to make with it.

The Fabric Is The Art

When I touch fabric and study the intricate detail of the design I want my creations to do justice to the fabric itself. I don’t want some fussy design getting in the way of the art in the fabric. As a result I have to study the fabric before cutting and often will possess a piece for quite awhile before I create anything with it.

With the Alpine Wonderland collection it was the same.

Sew.Knit.Create alpine close-up

Sew.Knit.Create alpine close-up

Sew.Knit.Create vintage deer

Sew.Knit.Create vintage deer

It really is simply too beautiful to just cut up and rip into! However, it is also too beautiful to just let it sit in my basement waiting for me to dream up the perfect project.

The solution? Fabric on the walls!

Sew.Knit.Create framed fabric

Sew.Knit.Create framed fabric

I found matching picture frames, cut an 8×10 piece out of the woodland tree fabric, and placed the three prints on my walls. Now I can dine throughout the winter months staring at beautiful art and dreaming of the perfect project.

I also loved the sled print and so I wrapped my Charlie Brown style tree with the blue background print.

Sew.Knit.Create christmas tree

Sew.Knit.Create christmas tree

Sew.Knit.Create girl in sled

Sew.Knit.Create girl in sled

Sew.Knit.Create snow people

Sew.Knit.Create snow people

To learn more about Sheri McCulley’s work visit her website or blog for design inspiration, free product posts, and beautiful art.

2 thoughts on “The Fabric Is The Art

  1. Your blog is ready and loaded in for my Grow Your Blog party – updates are on my blog – see you on the 19th
    Vicki

    You need to make sure you have a follower gadget on your sidebar or someplace for folks to sign up to follow you.

Leave a Reply

